Chicken Salad Sandwich

This blog is so dead..I can’t believe it..the last time I posted here was Feb 15th. And Every time I cook something interesting I take a picture,to put here.I think part of it is because I don’t feel motivated enough to cook or that I am just too tired.OR lazy.
Well whatever the reasons..I have decided to seriously start posting something here..At least once a week..if not every day. And I have also decided to start cooking seriously again.. hopefully,I start enjoying it as much as I used to.
Let me waste no further time and post a recipe here..
Summers are here and I have just the right dish for a cool lunch on a hot summer day.

Chicken Salad Sandwich

Ingredients:
8-10 slices of bread (white or whole wheat)
For the chicken paste:
200 gms of boneless chicken
1/2 tsp coriander leaves
1 pod of garlic
1 green chili
1/2 cup of fat-free mayonnaise OR 4 tbsp of fresh cream
1 small tomato cubed
1 small onion cubed
2-3 leaves of lettuce,finely shredded
1/2 cup walnuts pieces.
Salt and pepper to taste.

Preparation :

Boil the chicken pieces in 1 1/2 cup of water in a pressure cooker till the chicken pieces are tender.Retain the chicken stock.
Allow the chicken to cool down and then shred in a mixer.Grind the shredded chicken with a few teaspoonful of chicken stock.Add garlic and green chili and grind to a fine paste.
Transfer to a mixing bowl.
Add coriander,salt to taste,mayonnaise and everything else.Blend well.
Take a slice of bread and spread this mixture evenly on it,cover with another slice.Cut diagonally and serve.
Serve it with a cool lemonade on a warm day.

Note: The original recipe that my mom got from somewhere called for Thyme,but she replaced it with Coriander leaves.When I decided to make this,I added tomatoes and onions and lettuce.The inspiration for walnuts came from
Arby’s Pecan Chicken Salad Sandwich.
Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Posted on July 9, 2008, in Chicken, Mumma's Kitchen and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Arby’s salad sandwich is my husband’s fave!! Your recipe sounds great. Blog when you can,when you feel like it, no need to feel pressured!:))

  2. I think you should keep it going. Tried maintaining a food blog as well.. but its painful.. taking pics, cooking, all that.. but its worth it to have them recorded..

Leave a Reply

